Christmas 2013

I love Christmas I do.

This was our first Christmas in the new flat, and the first Christmas in our own home. I absolutely love the whole season; decorating the tree to Christmas with the Rat Pack, baking gingerbread to a bit of Slade, buying everything on Amazon because it’s raining outside, having another mince pie and a glass of mulled anything in front of Elf/White Christmas/Die Hard 2.

2014 is going to be all about making things; baking, cooking, writing, drawing, etc.

Hubby (resident chef), among other things, got some lovely Le Crueset pans, a whisky blending kit from Masters of Malt, and a molecular gastronomy kit, so he can get a bit Heston in the Kitchen.

I gave Mum, who has dabbled in making her own gift tags and greeting cards in the past, some blank recycled stationery from Paperchase, a set of rubber stamps and ink pads from Etsy including a personalised “Handmade By Marian” stamp. She was really pleased with them.

And I was massively spoilt with some beautiful gifts, including this gorgeous leather shopper from ASOS, cake tins and a mug from brilliant British designers Magpie.

And (drumroll please), my mad husband bought me my very own Adana letterpress!

Freshly unwrapped

It’s a beautiful bit of kit, and I’ve already been squeezing every drop of advice from the lovely Rachel at Pricklepress (do buy her stationery, it’s super), whom I met at Crafty Fox Market last year.

Hubby and I popped to Lassco after New Years as well, as we had nowhere to put the letterpress or all the accompanying paraphernalia. We bought a set of drawers for a surprisingly reasonable price which was absolutely perfect.

IMG_2892

I’m just waiting on the ink and then I can get on and make a huge mess of our spare room.

All in all, a wonderful Christmas. Some other things we got up to below. Happy New Year everyone!

One thought on “Christmas 2013

  1. Pingback: Make More. Do Good. | jenwrightwrites

Leave a Reply

